Has this pandemic brought out the best in you, the worst in you, or did it not affect you at all?

America’s Great Depression of (1929 – 1939) was a time of starvation and supporting oneself at minimum levels. Decades later, we are back to struggling as they did back then. Remember the Depression-era motto?

“Use it up, wear it out, make do or do without.”

Households are back to embracing new levels of frugality in daily life. People are losing their cars, homes, can’t pay their rents, can barely buy food, and they can’t afford to get sick. How did this happen in 2020? This pandemic has brought out my curiosity of how folks survived during the Great Depression, and how they treated each other during these stressful times.

Some people, and churches had potlucks to share food, some families strived for self-sufficiency by keeping small kitchen gardens with vegetables and herbs. Some towns and cities allowed folks to have community thrift gardens for residents to grow food. Some people were checking in and helping their neighbors. People were coming together to weather the storm.

Attitudes changed toward government assistance during the Great Depression as well. People were less stigmatized after the New Deal programs were implemented. When you are all in the same boat your attitude changes. I wish I could get food stamps right now! Have you noticed any difference in the people around you?

Has someone checked up on you? Have they called to see if you were okay with food and shelter. Has the attitudes in your community changed. Have YOU tried to reach out to help others? Help comes in many forms, and it doesn’t always have to be money. I can count on one hand how many people I have seen and heard from.

I am the type of person who loves to help others. I enjoy putting a smile on your face, or assisting you with a task you’re having problems with. If I have a dime, I will give you a nickel. If I were blessed not to be affected that much financially by this pandemic I would help a person who is struggling. I dam sure wouldn’t take their last knowing they are having a financial crisis.

I can only speak to my experience, some people are phony, they pretend very well. They really only care about their own family, and household. This class of people personify themselves on social media as God fearing, pillars of their community, caring and loving individuals who will help anybody.

These people are the ones who know your circumstances and pretend to empathize before taking your meager means. I’m not saying that they don’t have problems too, we all do, we are all struggling, but if you know that you were in a position to assist someone you claim to care about and you don’t then stop pretending you give a shit.

Folks are out here fighting over toilet paper, stealing, killing, giving off passive-aggressive vibes and lying on Facebook for likes, love and admiration. The pandemic has not changed those who are stable and financially secure nor has it given them a conscience or christian heart to ask how are you? Are you okay? How can I help you?

I have seen a lot of “living my best life” or admiration for those who have been doing well or pretending to be doing well. I can’t confirm that there is a pandemic going on right now by the behaviors displayed in my circle. I can count on one hand how many people I see say “You good?” “Do you need some essentials?”if you are depressed call me” or “Home is where you are loved, you always have a place here.”

It’s sad, but true. People who suffered during the Great Depression were more caring, helpful, and generous than people are in 2020.


Pay more attention to what someone is doing than to what they are saying. Talk might thrill, but actions reveal.

~Mandy Hale~

The Survival Mom, prep more, worry less.

https://thesurvivalmom.com/survival-wisdom-great-depression/

Check out this insightful site for 65 Pieces of Survival Wisdom From the Great Depression.

Leave a comment