2020 The year of reality checks.

As we come down to the end of this year have you thought about what this year has taught you? Have you thought about how it changed you during the challenges you faced, and the lessons you learned over the last 11 months? It definitely left me with a lot of things to remember, and reflect upon.

For many of us, this year has been incredibly challenging, and life-changing, but it was like no other year I’ve experienced before. For better or worse, the last 11 months has opened my eyes to see the behaviors of the american people, and our shared history. It gave me a look into the behaviors of my community, neighbors, and friends.

We all learned a lot about health, resilience, and the importance of having a tranquil sanctuary. However, a lot of people seemed to forget about those who were not in the position to do for themselves. It saddens me to know that even during desperate times there are people who can only think of themselves, money, power, and popularity.

I did not see a lot of news stories on help given to families living below the poverty line, or the elderly who live alone, and still needed to work just to make their monthly bills. I also didn’t see a constant presence of people looking out for each other in their own communities. Sad, but true. In some communities you have to be liked, on the same level of wealth, statue, circles and mindsets.

The news brought to us was very little good, and some bad such as the subject of racism, the importance of voting, Black Lives Matter, and the new sensation of “Karens” in the world. The problem I have with that is the fact that it’s not “NEW” this is the way it’s always been, and like a gun, we are now ready, and aimed to fire our cellphones to record the act in process.

For most of my people it’s the only way to prove our innocence, and to expose the real villains, perpetrators, monsters, and frauds. Technology has a life long mission, and profit margin.

There’s your version of truth, my version of truth, video, and screenshot facts of the truth Bitch!

I’m a nonconformist individual who believes in God. I don’t follow the crowd. If I see something wrong, and someone being hurt by it, I speak up, I help, I just can’t go about my day and pretend it never happen, or think to myself “it’s not my problem”. There are too many people in the world with this mindset, and I believe they outnumber the people who think like me.

Individuality takes risk, and I take risks
Following the herd takes no risk at all.

A nonconformist is someone who doesn’t conform to other people’s ideas of how things should be. Activists, artists, street performers, and anyone else who dances to the beat of a different drummer is a nonconformist.

Romans 12.12

Is it good to be non conformist? I think so, a positive mindset is very important to being a nonconformist because you have to be comfortable with yourself. That doesn’t mean you should be unreasonable. Nonconformists are great leaders and they know how to reason with others, especially those that don’t see their point of view.

So, 2020 has taught me to lower my expectations of people who do not share the same mindset as me. It has taught me to pray more, and to walk by faith. It has also taught me the following:

  • The real face of people during hard times
  • Self-care is a priority, and not a privilege
  • That freedom is not free, and should not be taken for granted
  • Things are not always what they seem, first appearances can be deceiving
  • Life spares no one
  • Your time is valuable, don’t waste it on people or things that don’t add value to your life
  • Always listen to your gut instincts, it will never lie to you
  • Nothing stays the same, change is inevitable
  • Alone doesn’t mean lonely, learn to enjoy your own company
  • Every one you meet is fighting a battle, don’t be so quick to judge, just be kind
  • Mindfulness is superpower that you can get right now
  • Learn to respond and not react, emotional intelligence is the key to making better life choices
  • Don’t hesitate when you should act
  • If you see a good fight, jump in it Ex: Justice for the poor & weak, BLM, and those who cannot fend for themselves

Most importantly, stay positive, focused, and prayed up.

3 thoughts on “2020 The year of reality checks.

  1. A lot of good thoughts here, I particularly like the fact that an anti-conformist doesn’t have to be unreasonable, it allows you to live in the margin between the two, a bit of each depending on the area.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Happy New Year Lookoom, I hope this finds you well. I loved this reply, you get me. I haven’t been posting for a while. I just lost my sister to Covid. My sister was a RN, and caught it while in the office with only five people. I still can not process this. Take care of yourself, and thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment