Just Checking In – How are you all doing with the isolation?

I’ll be honest, it’s been tough to be level-headed, calm, and creative during these isolating times. We’re constantly being bombarded with bad news, conspiracy theories, updates of coronavirus case numbers, and recent crime updates. I’ve been trying to find ways to keep myself busy and uplifted to balance it all out.

Organize

I used some of my time to organize everything in the house. When you are inside the house everyday, all day, you will notice things that never caught your eye before, or little tasks that you procrastinated doing. I am very OCD when it comes to cleaning and organizing so this did not help me a bit. I used the time to reorganize my social media pages, and took free online certification courses to extend my brand.

Stay in touch

I have been using Skype, Google Duo, Marco Polo, and Facebook Messenger to visit with my long-distant friends, and family. We have so much fun using the filters to take pictures while we video chat. It is also a great way to have a paint and sip party, game night, or a pajama jam. There are so many ways to have fun with those you love long distance.

Exercise

Take the time to exercise, you only need 15-20 minutes three days a week. You can exercise at home with YouTube videos. There are also dance videos you can do with your kids to get them moving. Just for fun make a Tik Tok exercise video with your pet, kids, significant other or by yourself. If you can exercise outside, that’s even better. Fresh air, sunlight and going for walks can really help you mentally.

Self-Reflect and Reset Your Priorities

Now may be a good time to make a new priority list, which will likely be shorter than before the pandemic. The things you thought were important may not be so important now. It’s one way to simplify your life. One of the best ways to engage in self-reflection is through journaling. If you spend a few minutes every day jotting down your thoughts, you’ll see improvement in your mood.

Keep a Routine

We all had routines when times weren’t chaotic. They are even more important now. If you’re working from home, you can be a little flexible with your routine. Yet, it’s important to stick to some type of plan so that when you go back to work and life return to some sense of normality it will not shock your system. Keep the kids on a schedule, kids love structure, even though they tell you that they don’t.

Have Fun

Yes I said have some fun. Set aside time at home to have fun doing silly stuff, like me, check this out. I found this Reface App and went crazy on refacing my picture music videos, films, and my favorite stars. Here’s one!

I am feeling myself in this Kim Kardashian photo! Go to your Play store on your phone and enjoy yourself. Stay safe and healthy.

Leave a comment